## ANNOUNCEMENT

## **Review Panel for Physical Review Letters**

It has been over 30 years since *Physical Review Letters* was started. In that time there have been some valuable surveys and assessments. For example, a study of refereeing in *Physical Review* and *Physical Review Letters* was carried out by a committee chaired by Dr. Patricia Dehmer in 1980 (see *Physics Today*, February 1982). Also, in 1972 an *ad hoc* committee with nine members representing different areas of physics reviewed the then current status of *Physical Review Letters*. In addition, several other surveys were carried out by the editors addressing specific points.

However, given the long time since a major review and the changes in our science and its methods, it seemed important to the editors to carry out a new major review of *Physical Review Letters*. Accordingly, a proposal was presented to the American Physical Society (APS) Publications Committee and subsequently to the APS Council to carry out such a review. The Council approved and the review is underway. It is planned to complete the process and prepare a report in time for the Fall 1990 meeting of the APS Publications Committee. The report will be broadly available and will be important in decisions affecting future practices in *Physical Review Letters*.

The review has two broad goals. First, to evaluate *Physical Review Letters* as it now is, and secondly, to consider possible changes for the future. The review panel membership was chosen with full consultation with the APS Divisions and we are fortunate indeed in the willingness of the distinguished and knowledgeable physicists who have agreed to serve. The panel members are listed below.

As part of its study the panel will attempt to survey the opinions of *Physical Review Letters* authors and readers. However, this will of necessity be of limited scope. The panel welcomes and invites comments which may be directed to any member or to me.

Jack Sandweiss

Robert N. Cahn Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory University of California

Sheldon Datz Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Robert L. Gluckstern Department of Physics and Astronomy University of Maryland John Cooper Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics University of Colorado

Gary J. Feldman Stanford Linear Accelerator Center

Brage Golding, Jr. AT&T Bell Laboratories

(Continued)

Pierre C. Hohenberg AT&T Bell Laboratories

Peter Paul Department of Physics State University of New York

Michael Turner Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and University of Chicago

John T. Yates Department of Chemistry University of Pittsburgh Ernest Moniz Department of Physics Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Barrett H. Ripin Space Plasma Branch Naval Research Laboratory

John Wilkins Physics Department Ohio State University